Collins’ Struthers family collects October’s ‘Good Farm Neighbor Award’

The Struthers family of Collins with the “Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award.”

The current past president of the Iowa Pork Producers Association and his family is the latest pork producer to be named “Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award” winners.

Dave and Elaine Struthers and their four children received the award from Iowa Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig at the family’s Collins-area farm today. About 100 family, friends and neighbors attended the presentation and free pork luncheon served by the Story County Pork Producers.

The Struthers have a farrow-to-finish hog business and also raise corn and soybeans on their family farm.

“Dave and Elaine are farmers that do things right on the farm and how they care for their animals while also being very active in their community and statewide in ag organizations,” Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey said in announcing the award earlier this month. “I always enjoy recognizing deserving families like the Struthers and highlighting them as a great example of the types of livestock farms and livestock farmers we have all across the state.”

The family was nominated for the award by Jamie Waddingham, the Collins-Maxwell ag education instructor. In his nomination, Waddingham highlighted the family’s involvement in the community and in state agriculture organizations.

Dave has been involved in various committees at Collins-Maxwell Community School and has brought piglets to the elementary school and hosted elementary classes on his farm. He also has worked with the Collins-Maxwell FFA by providing land for a seed test plot and allowed them to use his pigs as practice for livestock judging. He also is involved in the Collins Area People On Old Tractors (CAPOOT) tractor ride.

Struthers is a Story County Pork Producers member and has served on the IPPA Board of Directors since 2009. He was president of the association in 2015. Dave is an Iowa Farm Bureau Federation member and won the organization’s Outstanding Young Farmer award in 2001.

The “Big Show,” which airs on both WHO and WMT radio, did live interviews during today’s event.

The “Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award,” made possible through the financial support of the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers, recognizes Iowa livestock farmers who take pride in doing things right. This includes caring for the environment and their livestock and being good neighbors. It is named in memory of Gary Wergin, a long-time WHO Radio farm broadcaster who helped create the award.

Anyone interested in nominating their neighbor for the award should write a letter or e-mail explaining why their neighbor should receive this designation. Applications may be submitted to the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Attn: Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award, Henry A. Wallace Building, Des Moines, IA 50319 or e-mailed to Communications@iowaAgriculture.gov.