Iowa's 2019 Winner of Pulled Pork Madness Contest is Warehouse Barbecue Co.

Iowa’s 2019 Winner of Pulled Pork Madness Contest is Warehouse Barbecue Co.

(Clive, Iowa) March 29, 2019 – An Ottumwa restaurant beat out fifteen other competitors to take the championship bracket of Pulled Pork Madness sponsored by the Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA). Warehouse Barbecue Co. was the top vote-getter in this social media contest that had 2,200 votes cast as Iowans worked their way through the Sweet Sixteen group announced March 13.

IPPA’s Consumer Outreach Director Kelsey Byrnes initially invited Iowa Pork social media followers to nominate the Iowa restaurant they felt had the best pulled pork sandwich. About 1,150 pork fans nominated 80 restaurants and Byrnes then selected the top two vote-getters in each of IPPA’s eight districts to fill out the “Sweet 16” bracket that got the head-to-head contests underway.

In the championship round, Warehouse Barbecue Co. won out over Iowa BBQ Co. of Le Mars.

Warehouse Barbecue Co. is owned by a father and son duo, Dusty and Roger Ware. The menu describes their winning Pulled Pork as made from hickory-smoked Duroc premium pork. You can order a pulled pork sandwich, or buy the pulled pork in ¼, ½, or 1-pound quantities.

“We hold this social media contest to attract new pork fans and remind people that there are restaurants in all parts of Iowa that offer really great barbecue pork,” Byrnes said.

Along with bragging rights, Warehouse Barbecue Co. receives $250 and a “Pulled Pork Madness” plaque.

If You Go:

Location: Warehouse Barbecue Co.
2818 N. Court Rd.
Ottumwa, IA 52501
Hours: Mon – Sat, 11am to 9pm
closed Sundays
Phone: 641-954-8038

Here is a full list of the 2019 Pulled Pork Madness restaurants that competed in the bracket rounds.

District Restaurant Town
1 Iowa BBQ Co Le Mars
1 Smokin’ Hereford BBQ Storm Lake
2 Vinny’s BBQ Dakota City
2 Edgewater BBQ Emmetsburg
3 Blue Barn BBQ Cedar Falls
3 Starbeck’s Cedar Falls
4 Backwood’s BBQ McGregor
4 Dotzy’s Restaurant & Saloon Elgin
5 Twisted Tail Steakhouse & Saloon Beebeetown
5 The Full Nelson Halbur
6 Bett & Bev’s BBQ Jefferson
6 Short E’s BBQ Johnston
7 Warehouse Barbecue Co + Brewhouse Ottumwa
7 Lynnville’s Smokin’ J’s BBQ Lynnville
8 Smilee’s DeWitt
8 Sweet ‘N Saucy Fairfield

This is the second year for the contest. The inaugural winner of Pulled Pork Madness in 2018 was Moo’s BBQ in Newton.


About the Iowa Pork Producers Association

The mission of the Iowa Pork Producers Association is promoting, educating and providing a leading voice for a sustainable, socially responsible, and globally competitive pork industry.