Many Candidates Vie for Youth Leadership Team

Many Candidates Vie for Youth Leadership Team

Fifteen young women and men are competing for three positions on the 2020 Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) Youth Leadership Team. The competition will be held during Iowa Pork Congress Jan. 22 and 23.

The Youth Leadership Team is designed for those who are passionate about the pork industry. Contestants are seniors in high school or college students up to age 20 at the time of the event. Candidates will be judged on their knowledge about pork and pig production as shown in a speech presentation, personal interview, media interview, experience, and a test about the topics.

The female contestant with the highest score will automatically be crowned Iowa Pork Queen, and receives a $4,000 scholarship, plaque, crown and sash. Two other applicants will become Premier Pork Youth Ambassadors; each receives a $4,000 scholarship and plaque. All three will assist with state pork promotional and educational activities throughout 2020.

Contestants, their hometowns and counties are:

Youth Applicant Hometown County
Abby Bean Marathon Buena Vista County
Alexis Berte Algona Kossuth County
Samantha Black Nevada Story County
Brooke Boyle Danbury Woodbury County
Kylee Brown Earlham Madison County
Ellie Cook Hubbard Hardin County
Paige Dagel Sanborn O’Brien County
Madison Fishback Washington Washington County
Caleb Hogan Monticello Jones County
Ashley Kahler Cambridge Story County
Eric Keller Gladbrook Tama County
Christian Koch Pierson Plymouth County
Macy Loecke Manchester Delaware County
Zachary Riedemann Calumet O’Brien County
Dalton Weeks Milo Warren County