The Iowa Environmental Steward Award from the Iowa Pork Producers Association annually recognizes an individual who demonstrates the positive contributions the pork industry makes to the natural environment. Applications will be evaluated on the following criteria: manure/nutrient management, soil and water conservation, air quality, public relations, wildlife habitat, and environmental management innovations. The nomination form and instructions are available below, as a Word or PDF file. Submission deadline is Aug. 1, 2023.

Word Document Nomination Form


Fillable PDF Nomination Form

Each application requires a detailed farm description and a letter of recommendation. Nominees must be members of Iowa Pork Producers Association. Only one award is given each year. The recipient is honored at the Iowa Pork Congress Banquet in January where they will receive a $2,500 cash award. In addition, the person nominating the award recipient will receive $500.

2022 Winner – Ross & Morgan Weymiller, Waukon
2021 Winner – Todd and Mary Kay Wegener, Fenton
2020 Winner – Mike & Michelle Ehlers, Marathon
2019 Winner – Matt & Melissa Ditch, Center Point
2018 Winner Steve Berger, Washington
2017 Winner – Rob Stout, Washington
2016 Winner – Ben and Anna Bader, Jesup
2015 Winner – Joel and Laura Huber, Huber Crops & Chops, Inc., Wellman
2014 Winner – Brian and JoAnne Hunter, Scranton
2013 Winner – Bruce and Jenny Wessling, Wessling Ag, Grand Junction
2012 Winner – Jason Russell, Russell Bros. LLC, Prairieburg
2011 Winner – Ryan & Lana Reed, Ottumwa
2010 Winner – Rod and Missy Bice, Woodward
2009 Winner – Peter and Aaron Juergens, Dedham
2008 Winner – Roger and Renee Nath, Everly
2007 Winner – Mike and Becky Nothem, Remsen