ISU names new animal science chair

ISU names new animal science chair

Posted Dec. 11, 2014

Iowa State University has announced the hiring of a new chairman of the animal science department.

Animal scientist Dr. Donald Beermann is a former animal science professor at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and led the UNL animal science department from 1999 to 2007. He most recently served as interim director of the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and interim associate dean of the Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine at UNL. Beermann was inducted into the Nebraska Hall of Agricultural Achievement in 2013.

“Dr. Beermann’s experiences have prepared him well for this role. I look forward to working with him to further advance the department of animal science,” said Wendy Wintersteen, endowed dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

Beermann grew up on a farm near Denison and is an Iowa State alumnus, earning a bachelor’s degree in animal science in 1971. He went on to earn a master’s degree in meat and animal science and a doctorate in muscle biology and human physiology from the University of Wisconsin in 1974 and 1976.

The new chairman began his new duties on Jan. 5

Beermann succeeds Dr. Maynard Hogberg, who served as chair from 2003 until his retirement in early January. Hogberg announced his retirement in 2013, but continued to serve as chair until a replacement was found.

“Since his retirement announcement, Maynard has received numerous awards recognizing his great success as department chair and his leadership to the livestock and poultry industry in Iowa. I thank Dr. Hogberg for his leadership and service to the department, the college, ISU and Iowa,” Wintersteen said.