CSIF receives Iowa ag secretary award

CSIF receives Iowa ag secretary award

The Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers was recognized by Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey at the Iowa Agricultural Leaders Dinner held in Des Moines on March 7.

The coalition was one of four winners of the Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Leader Awards. Northey presented the organization with the Leadership in Collaboration Award.

CSIF was established in 2004 by farmers, for farmers, to help those who raise livestock successfully and responsibly manage changes to their livestock farms. The coalition does this by helping farmers navigate regulations, providing building site analysis, consulting on safeguarding the environment, and enhancing neighbor relations. These services are provided free-of-charge to Iowa livestock farmers.

The coalition is a joint partnership involving the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Egg Council, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Pork Producers Association, Iowa Soybean Association, Iowa Turkey Federation and Midwest Dairy Association.

CSIF’s mission of helping Iowa’s farm families grow successfully and responsibly is still as important to the state today as it was 13 years ago. Its pre-emptive approach of helping farmers start raising livestock or grow their existing farms has proven to be successful—and in many cases—essential to reaching the farm family’s goals.

The coalition is led by Executive Director Brian Waddingham, field specialist Kent Mowrer and assistant field specialist Haley Banwart.

The four award winners were recognized for their progress, their innovative solutions and their commitment to serving our communities through collaboration and hard work.

“It is a tremendous honor and privilege to recognize these leaders that contribute so much to our state and the agriculture industry,” Northey said. “These Ag Leader Award recipients epitomize the values of Iowa agriculture that makes our state a leader nationally and globally.”

Northey created the Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Leader Awards to recognize, honor and promote Iowa citizens, companies and organizations that have made significant contributions to Iowa’s agriculture industry. Those recognized have displayed leadership within the categories of innovation, conservation, service, and collaboration.