Introducing the IPPA 2013 youth team

Introducing the IPPA 2013 youth team

Posted Jan. 29, 2013

The Iowa Pork Producers Association selected its 2013 Pork Queen, Pork Princess and Youth Ambassador at the 41st annual Iowa Pork Congress banquet in Des Moines Jan. 23.

The new Iowa Pork Queen is Breanna Branderhorst, the daughter of Bryan and Deb Branderhorst of Prairie City in Jasper Co. She is a freshman at Iowa State University and is pursuing a degree in agricultural and life sciences education with a minor in animal science. Breanna hopes to become a high school agriculture teacher and FFA advisor after graduation.

Branderhorst is joined on the 2013 Iowa Pork Youth Team by Kendra Kehrli, the daughter of Ken and Kathy Kehrli of Winthrop in Buchanan Co. She will serve as the Iowa Pork Princess. Kendra is a senior at East Buchanan High School and plans to attend college and pursue an animal science degree with an emphasis in nutrition or veterinary science next fall.

Rounding out the youth team is the Iowa Premier Pork Youth Ambassador Emily Klootwyk of Knoxville in Marion Co. She is the daughter of Brian and Kelly Klootwyk. Emily is a student at ISU, majoring in animal science with a minor in international agriculture.

Eleven young women from around the state entered the queen competition and the youth ambassador contest attracted six candidates. All of the contestants participated in interviewing and communications exercises and were judged on their skills, poise, presentation and overall knowledge of the pork industry and Iowa agriculture.

Branderhorst, Kehrli and Klootwyk will represent IPPA at various pork promotional and educational events throughout the year.

The new Pork Queen and Youth Ambassador each receive a $2,000 scholarship and the Iowa Pork Princess earns a $1,000 scholarship from IPPA.

The 2012 Iowa Pork Youth Team of Pork Queen Lindsay Reth of Manchester in Delaware Co., Pork Princess Sterling Schnepf of Granville in Plymouth Co. and Youth Ambassador Jacob Swanson of Ottumwa in Wapello Co. ended their year with farewell speeches at the banquet.