Iowa producers appointed to Pork Act Delegate Body

Iowa producers appointed to Pork Act Delegate Body

Posted Jan. 20, 2014

Iowa’s pork industry will be represented by 30 Iowa hog farmers at the 2014 National Pork Industry Forum.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced Jan. 9 the appointment of 152 producers and four importers to the Pork Act Delegate Body and all will serve a one-year term.

The appointees were selected from nominees submitted by state pork producer associations and importer groups.

The Iowans appointed to the delegate body are Tim Schmidt, Jamie Schmidt, Dean Frazer, Al Wulfekuhle, Bryan Karwal, Dave Moody, Art Halstead, Heather Hora, Greg Lear, Bill Tentinger, Mark Meirick, Marv Rietema, Leon Sheets, David Struthers , Dr. Howard Hill, Curtis Meier, Dr. Gene Ver Steeg, John Vossberg, Joe Rotta, Dr. Craig Rowles, Rodney Dykstra, Scott Tapper, Mary Bierman, Steve Kerns, Lori Jorgenson, Jill Kerber-Aldous, Steve Burgmeier, Gregg Hora, Dale Reicks and Greg Schroeder.

The Iowa delegate body is far and away the largest of any other state.

Delegates meet annually to recommend the rate of Pork Checkoff assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive and nominate producers and importers for the 15-member National Pork Board.

Pork Forum will be held March 6-8 in Kansas City.