Iowa Winner of Hog Wild Award Named

Iowa Winner of Hog Wild Award Named

Jeff Monk (left), Hog Wild award winner, and Mike Paustian, president of the Iowa Pork Producers Association

Six men from across Iowa vied for the top Hog Wild award during Iowa Pork Congress. All received the local Hog Wild designation for the key roles they play in their county pork producer organizations.

Jeff Monk of Allamakee County was named the state winner of the award presented by the Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA).

Monk, who lives near Waukon, is the president of the Allamakee County Pork Producers, an organization which was just reactivated this past year. He spearheaded that effort. Reactivating an organization is more than just asking for memberships, it’s also about sharing his passion for Iowa’s pork production by organizing events and promoting pork. Not only has Monk handled coordination of many events, he’s also helped with grilling pork at the county fair, at an area corn maze and at football games at the three county high schools. At the state level, Monk assists with the Iowa Pork Tent at the Iowa State Fair, ag in the classroom events, and serving on the public relations and membership/leadership committees.

Other local winners of the Hog Wild award are: Adam Decker, Wyoming; Duane Dreager, Nodaway; Jeff Hrdlicka, Rock Rapids; Jodan LeClere, Manchester; and Ralph Lents, Menlo.

These individuals showed the highest qualities of leadership, dedication and commitment to the activities that promote the Iowa pork industry. The IPPA promotion committee selects the nominees and winner of the state award.