Iowan elected president of National Pork Board

Iowan elected president of National Pork Board

A hog farmer from Cherokee was elected last week as the new president of the National Pork Board in Clive. 

Derrick Sleezer was elected during the board’s meeting in Des Moines on June 2. He is serving his second three-year term on the National Pork Board and just concluded two years as the board’s treasurer.

“First and foremost, I am proud to be an American pig farmer and to serve my industry in leading the Pork Checkoff in the year ahead,” Sleezer said. “There is great consumer interest in agriculture and in understanding how food is grown, raised and marketed. I see much opportunity in the year ahead as we help shape that story.”

Serving with Sleezer as vice president is Jan Archer, a pork producer from Goldsboro, N.C. Terry O’Neel, a producer from Friend, Neb., was elected treasurer. The three executive officers’ one-year terms began June 3. Outgoing president Dale Norton, a producer from Bronson, Michigan, will serve in a non-voting role as immediate past president.

Sleezer also is a member of the Iowa Pork Producers Association Board of Directors and has served on the board since 2010.

“As we look ahead to the next five years, the Pork Checkoff is prepared to meet the challenges facing our industry,” Sleezer said. “Guided by the strategic plan, we have a sharp focus on building consumer trust, driving sustainable production and growing consumer demand for U.S. pork.”

Sleezer is part owner and an employee of Sleezer, Inc., a farrow-to-finish, farrow-to-wean and farrow-to-feeder business that has 700 sows and markets 15,000 hogs annually. He also is employed by Kerber Companies.