IPPA 2012 producer awards to be presented

IPPA 2012 producer awards to be presented

Posted Jan. 21, 2013

The tradition of honoring Iowa’s best hog farmers will continue at the Iowa Pork Producers Association’s 2013 Iowa Pork Congress Banquet in Des Moines on Jan. 23.

The 70th class of Master Pork Producers, the Pork All-American, the Master Seedstock Producer and the Honorary Master Pork Producers all will be formally recognized during the banquet.

IPPA has named Master Pork Producers since 1942 and 10 more producers will receive the prestigious belt buckle symbolic of the award at the banquet. The recipients are nominated by their neighbors and peers and recognized for their innovation, attention to quality, efficiency and production records within their farm business.

A young producer who is recognized as a successful and dedicated businessperson and a community leader will receive the 2012 Pork All-American Award, the highest honor an Iowa pork producer can receive.

The Iowa Purebred Swine Council will name the winner of its Master Seedstock Producer Award for 2012. The award recognizes an outstanding seedstock producer who has proven to be a notable example of integrity, leadership and success in the production and promotion of the purebred swine industry.

In addition to the producer awards, two people who have provided outstanding and distinguished service to the betterment and success of Iowa’s pork industry will receive the Honorary Master Pork Producer Award.

The Iowa Pork Congress Banquet will be held at the Veterans’ Memorial Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center starting at 6 p.m.