NPPC elects new officers, board members

NPPC elects new officers, board members

Posted March 6, 2012

The National Pork Producers Council, at its annual business meeting – the National Pork Industry Forum – held in Denver March 1-3, elected new officers and members to its board of directors.

Taking over as president of the organization is R.C. Hunt, a producer from Wilson, N.C. Randy Spronk, a producer from Edgerton, Minn., was elevated to president-elect and Dr. Howard Hill, a producer and veterinarian from Cambridge, Iowa, was elected to the vice president’s position. Each was elected for a one-year term.

Re-elected to the board for three-year terms in the producer category were Hill; James Heimerl, from Johnstown, Ohio; Bill Kessler, from Mexico, Mo.; and E. Ray Summerlin, from Dunn, N.C.

“We have excellent leadership in R.C., Randy and Howard and quality, dedicated industry representatives in the new board members who were elected,” said NPPC CEO Neil Dierks. “I know that all of them will work diligently and tirelessly on behalf of America’s pork producers.”

In addition to the newly elected and re-elected officers and board members, continuing as NPPC directors are: Gary Asay, from Osco, Ill.; Mark Legan, from Coatesville, Ind.; Larry Liepold, from Okabena, Minn.; Bill Luckey, from Columbus, Neb.; Dr. Ron Prestage, from Camden, S.C.; and John Weber, from Dysart, Iowa. Al Deutsch, who works for Automated Production Systems, remains as the allied industry representative, and Pat Schwab, with Hormel Foods, remains as the packer representative. Doug Wolf, owner of Wolf L & G Farms LLC in Lancaster, Wis., will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Producers Dave Moody, from Nevada, Iowa, and Kraig Westerbeek, from Warsaw, N.C., were elected for two-year terms to NPPC’s Nominating Committee, which reviews the credentials of candidates for the organization’s board of directors.