The Master Pork Awards Program began in 1942 through the efforts of Herb Plambeck, WHO Radio; Elvin Quaife, Iowa State College Extension; and Wilbur Plager, Iowa Swine Producers Association, as an effort to stimulate pork and lard production and assist World War II efforts. The initial awards program focused on the total number of pigs weaned per farm and pigs weaned per litter.

The awards program has shifted program standards over the years, but still serves the initial objective of promoting diversity, efficiency, and excellence in pork production in Iowa.

The awards program is a joint effort between the Extension Service at Iowa State University and the Iowa Pork Producers Association. The Master Pork Awards Program Selection Committee is made up of staff from the ISU Extension Service, the Iowa Pork Industry Center at Iowa State, and the Iowa Pork Producers Association. They are teaming up again in 2023 to recognize outstanding pork producers in Iowa.

Master Pork Producer — This award recognizes outstanding Iowa pork producers. Awardees will be evaluated based on their pork production statistics, their commitment to the We Care® principles, and their contribution to their community. (For requirement, please see the nomination form.)

 2023 Master Pork Producer Nomination Form and Instructions

Download:        Word Document    or        Fillable PDF

Master Pork Partner – This award aims to recognize production company employees who have demonstrated positive impacts on their production system but who are not involved in day-to-day, on-farm duties and management. We are continuing the addition of two categories— Veterinarian of the Year and Driver of the Year, which were new in 2019; please review these to note the category for the nomination.

2023 Master Pork Partner Nomination Form and Instructions

Download:        Word Document     or        Fillable PDF