State Winner of Belle Ringer Award Named

State Winner of Belle Ringer Award Named

Janet Sullivan, Belle Ringer award winner, and Mike Paustian, president of the Iowa Pork Producers Association

Five women from across Iowa vied for the top Belle Ringer  award during Iowa Pork Congress. All received the local Belle Ringer designation for the key roles they play in their county pork producer organizations.

Cherokee County’s Janet Sullivan was named the state winner of the award presented by the Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA).

Sullivan, of Aurelia, has served on the Cherokee County Pork Producers board in numerous positions and committees. For more than 20 years, she has been a catalyst for getting projects done. She coordinates the county fair pork producers food stand, golf outing, annual banquet, Ag Day, and pork grillings that happen every Friday through the summer. She even designed the pork trailer that is used for these events.

Not only does she make sure there is pork at these events, she is also known for providing her made-from-lard pie crusts on 60-70 pies served during the county fair as well as providing pies for the Cherokee County Pork Producers scholarship pie auction. Her outreach to younger students includes facilitating on-farm tours for fifth graders and Ag Safety Day for fourth graders.

At the state level, Sullivan serves on the Iowa Pork Tent committee and works several days at the Iowa State Fair. She also served on the IPPA promotion committee for several years.

Other local winners of the Belle Ringer award are: Karen Dreager, Nodaway; Danielle Hrdlicka, Rock Rapids; Abby Jaeger, Worthington; and Beth Schulte, Earlville.

These individuals showed the highest qualities of leadership, dedication and commitment to the activities that promote the Iowa pork industry. The IPPA promotion committee selects the nominees and winner of the state award.