IPPA Honors Iowa's Master Pork Producers, Pork Partners

IPPA Honors Iowa’s Master Pork Producers, Pork Partners

At the 2022 Iowa Pork Congress banquet, the Iowa Pork Producers Association introduced the 2021 class of Master Pork Producers and Master Pork Partners.

A Master Pork Producer award denotes an individual’s or family’s excellence in pork production, as measured by their pork production statistics, their commitment to We Care® principles, and their contribution to their community. The We Care principles outline a pig farmer’s responsibilities to uphold high standards for animal well-being, food safety, the environment, as well as support of their local community.

IPPA’s 80th class of Master Pork Producers are:

  • Jerry & Nancy Croghan, Manning, Shelby County
  • Tim Sadler, Cresco, Howard County
  • Dan Thoma, Brandon, Buchanan County

IPPA started the Master Pork Producer Award program in 1942 and has now named 1,499 Iowa pig farming businesses as Master Pork Producers.

IPPA created the Master Pork Partner Award in 2014 to recognize outstanding production partners who have made positive impacts in Iowa pork production, even though they don’t have active daily roles at a specific production site.

The 2021 Master Pork Partners are:

  • Grant Weaver, Waterloo, a buyer for Tyson Fresh Meats in Waterloo
  • Bob Rose of Independence, trucker and owner of Rose Transfer
  • Cara Haden, DVM; Independence, a veterinarian with Pipestone Veterinary Services

The award winners are nominated by their peers and neighbors, and represent the diversity of Iowa’s pig farms. This production diversity helps maintain the strength of the industry and enables Iowa producers to compete successfully in the domestic and international commodity and niche markets.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association and Iowa State University Extension co-sponsor the Master Pork Producer program to demonstrate the character and breadth of Iowa pork production. Nominations for the 2022 Master Pork Program awards will open in May.